School District Accepting Nominations for St. Joseph Teacher Awards

Published 01/09 2014 11:06AM

Updated 01/09 2014 11:15AM

(ST. JOSEPH, Mo.) Nominations are being accepted for two annual awards given to St. Joseph teachers.

The Teacher of the Year program is conducted every year in conjunction with the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education and the National Teacher of the Year program.

It is the oldest nationwide program honoring classroom teachers. The St. Joseph teacher of the year and two runners up will receive monetary awards from Bender's Home Care.

Nominees must be currently employed, full-time teachers with the St. Joseph School District. School administrators are not eligible for this award.

Nomination forms can be found by clicking here. Printed applications will also be available at each district building in the principal's offices. The deadline for nominations is February 7.

Nominations are also being accepted for the Meierhoffer Innovator of the Year. The award is for individual or groups of teachers from the St. Joseph School District.

Since 1993, this award has been given to encourage education innovation in the district. Teachers, groups of teachers and counselors are eligible. Forms are available from the district website.

The winner is granted an $800 cash stipend and two runners-up each received $100. Nominations must be submitted by January 31.

Copyright 2015 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.