Inaugural Mustang Team Members Part of 2014 St. Joseph Baseball Hall of Fame Class

Published 05/26 2014 08:45PM

Updated 05/26 2014 11:10PM

(ST. JOSEPH) Two groups and one individual make up the 2014 St. Joseph Baseball Hall of Fame Class as announced by the St. Joseph Mustangs as part of the team's media day on Monday.

Central High School alum Byron Brown, who spent eight years in the major leagues after being drafted by the Pirates, leads off the list. He batted .236 with 205 hits, 102 RBI, and 30 home runs over his time with the Cubs, Astros, Phillies, and Cardinals. He also served as a voluntary coach under former Missouri Western skipper Doug Minnis.

St. Joseph-born players from the inaugural 2009 Mustangs team include Johnny Coy, Ryan Hook, Drew Garwood, Landin Eckhart, Ethan Barnett, and Jordan McGlaughlin.

"The young men could have played anywhere that summer, but they chose to stay in St. Joseph and play with the Mustangs," said president and CEO Dan Gerson. "Their presence and their skills gave us instant credibility, and helped lay the foundation for what continues to be a successful organization. We're extremely grateful for the contribution these young men made to the program here."

The Diamond Club, which consists of fans and boosters that are a regular presence at every home game, will also be inducted.

Manager Matt Johnson also announced that Northwest lefty Ryker Fox will get the opening day start when the Mustangs host the Midwest A's on Tuesday.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.