Seven Griffons, Two Bearcats Named to All-MIAA Baseball Team

Published 05/08 2014 02:15PM

Updated 05/08 2014 11:50PM

(KANSAS CITY, Mo.) Seven Griffons and two Bearcats have been named to the All-MIAA baseball team announced Thursday.

Missouri Western's junior outfielder Ryan Degner was named to the second team.

Degner leads the Griffons in hits (68), runs scored (43), doubles (15), total bases (114), slugging percentage (.659), on-base percentage (.463) and stolen bases (18).

He is also hitting a team high .393 and is second on the team with nine home runs and 45 RBI.

Senior catcher Jake Schrader was a third team selection.

Schrader has thrown out 17 runners in 46 games this season and leads the team with 11 home runs and 46 RBI.

Senior pitchers Jake Jones and Mason Queen along with junior second baseman Dylon Koch, junior shortstop Cody Childs and senior outfielder David Chew received honorable mention honors.

Northwest's Ryker Fox was also named to the third team.

The senior pitcher made 12 starts in 13 total appearances.

Fox had four complete games with a 3.77 era and struck out 57 batters on the year.

Senior outfielder Jon Pomatto was named to the honorable mention team.

Complete All-MIAA honors are below:

Player of the Year: Phillip Wilson, SS/RP, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Pitcher of the Year: Ricky Reeves, Jr., Central Oklahoma
Freshman of the Year: Ryan Helsley, P, Northeastern State
Coach of the Year: Chris Martin, Southwest Baptist

First Team All-MIAA

Pitcher: Ricky Reeves, Jr., Central Oklahoma
Pitcher: Shawn Talkington, Jr, Emporia State 

Pitcher: Kyle Gehrs, Sr., Central Missouri
Relief Pitcher: Brenton Higgins, Sr., Emporia State
Catcher: David Gauntt, So., Washburn
First Base: Jake O’ Brien, Jr., Central Oklahoma 

Second Base: Levi Parker, Jr., Emporia State
Shortstop: Phillip Wilson, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Third Base: Spencer Blacksher, Jr., Southwest Baptist
Outfield: Cody Robinson, Sr., Northeastern State
Outfield: Anthony Pacheco, So., Nebraska-Kearney
Outfield: Brad Wilson, Sr., Central Missouri
Designated Hitter: Josh Ingram, Jr., Central Oklahoma
Utility: Danny Droll, Jr., Nebraska-Kearney

Second Team All-MIAA

Pitcher: Brett Ash, Sr., Washburn^
Pitcher: Jared Sterling, Jr., Central Oklahoma^ 

Pitcher: David Reese, Sr., Missouri Southern^
Pitcher: Ryan Hesley, Fr., Northeastern State^
Relief Pitcher: Zach Davis, Sr., Central Missouri
Catcher: Max Ayoub, Jr., Nebraska-Kearney
First Base: Mike Failoni, Sr., Lindenwood 

Second Base: Cesar Wong, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Shortstop: Ross Wolfe, Jr., Southwest Baptist
Third Base: Dean Long, Jr., Emporia State
Outfield: Clayton Garland, Sr., Fort Hays State
Outfield: Justin Harris, Jr., Emporia State
Outfield: Ryan Degner, Jr., Missouri Western
Designated Hitter: Chance Wolfe, Fr., Southwest Baptist
Utility: Jake Alexander, So., Central Missouri
^= Four pitchers due to tie in the voting 

Third Team All-MIAA

Pitcher: Ricky Rivera, Jr., Central Missouri#
Pitcher: Logan Willard, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney#

Pitcher: Jarrod Miller, Jr., Emporia State#
Pitcher: Ryker Fox, Sr., Northwest Missouri#
Relief Pitcher: Phillip Wilson, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Catcher: Jake Schrader, Sr., Missouri Western
First Base: Horace Johnson, Sr., Fort Hays State*
First Base: Jake Vore, Jr., Southwest Baptist* 

Second Base: Landon Young, Sr., Southwest Baptist
Shortstop: Toby Cornejo, Sr., Emporia State
Third Base: Matt Johnson, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Outfield: Brandon Landanger, Jr., Nebraska-Kearney%
Outfield: Logan Moon, Sr., Missouri Southern%
Outfield: Christian Binger, So., Southwest Baptist%
Outfield: Trevor Jones, Sr., Central Missouri%
Designated Hitter: Barrett Noirfalise, Sr., Central Missouri
Utility: David Weber, Sr., Northeastern State
#= Four pitchers due to tie in the voting 
*= Two first basemen due to tie in the voting 
%= Four outfielders due to tie in the voting 

Honorable Mention 

Pitcher: Kurtis Schuyler, Central Missouri; Dakota McKaskle, Emporia State; Payton Walker, Missouri Southern; Jake Jones, Missouri Western; Tyler Thompson, Pittsburg State; Cory Borsh, Southwest Baptist; Taylor Gentry, Washburn
Relief Pitcher: Stephen Vaughn, Missouri Southern; Mason Queen, Missouri Western; Joe Smidt, Nebraska-Kearney; Ryan McKay, Pittsburg State; Sam Vergara, Southwest Baptist
Catcher: Seth Wheeler, Central Missouri; Brad Lamberti, Central Oklahoma.
First Base: Ryan Staggs, Northeastern State; Matt Jackson, Washburn
Second Base: Dylon Koch, Missouri Western; Corey Gragg, Washburn
Shortstop: Brad Jelinek, Central Missouri; Cody Childs, Missouri Western; Andrew Walker, Northeastern State
Third Base: Tony Sandifer, Central Missouri; Brad Foss, Pittsburg State; Kyle Carnahan, Washburn
Outfield: Kevin Gratza, Central Missouri; Tyler Crabtree, Central Oklahoma; Dillon Argo, Central Oklahoma; Price Jacobs, Emporia State; Marshall Vallandingham, Lindenwood; David Chew, Missouri Western; Jon Pomatto, Northwest Missouri; Cody Ball, Pittsburg State; Bo Helsel, Southwest Baptist; Wes Jones, Washburn; Parker Gibson, Washburn
Designated Hitter: Cooper Langley, Fort Hays State; Taylor Herrington, Washburn
Utility: Kevin Czarnecki, Fort hays State; Ben Stewart, Lincoln; Ben Courdret, Lindenwood; Jerry Roam, Lindenwood.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.