Western Sends Crop to All-MIAA Team

Published 05/09 2013 04:36PM

Updated 05/09 2013 04:49PM

(KANSAS CITY, Mo.) The Griffon name is peppered through the 2013 All-MIAA selection list as 10 players were selected.

Brandon Simmons was named the MIAA Pitcher of the Year, holding an 11-0 mark this season and setting a new career wins mark for the conference.

Shortstop Michael Schulze was named MIAA Player of the Year, sitting second in the conference in batting average (.449) and first in runs scored (65).

Head coach Buzz Verduzco also picked up MIAA Coach of the Year, leading the team to the first regular season conference championship in program history.

Northwest OF Ryan Abernathy and DH Eric McGlauflin were named to the Second Team, while P Ryker Fox earned an honorable mention.

Here is the full list of All-MIAA selections.

First Team
Starting Pitcher:
Edgar Lopez, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Starting Pitcher: Matt Stalcup, Sr., Pittsburg State
Starting Pitcher: Brandon Simmons, Sr., Missouri Western
Relief Pitcher: Andrew Urban, Sr., Central Missouri
Catcher: Chase Graskewicz, Sr., Central Missouri
First Base: Mike Failoni, Jr., Lindenwood
Second Base: Jimmy Smelcer, Sr., Missouri Western
Shortstop: Michael Schulze, Jr., Missouri Western
Third Base: Grant Fink, Sr., Missouri Western
Outfield: Cody Robinson, Jr., Northeastern State
Outfield: Kevin Gratza, Jr., Central Missouri
Outfield: Bubba Dotson, Sr., Missouri Western
Designated Hitter: Horace Johnson, Jr., Fort Hays State
Utility: Brian Wuest, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney

Second Team
Starting Pitcher: Travis Higgs, Jr., Central Missouri
Starting Pitcher: Dakota McKaskle, Jr., Emporia State
Starting Pitcher: Brett Abell, Sr., Missouri Southern
Relief Pitcher: Trevor Walch, Sr., Northeastern State
Catcher: Sam Ryan, Sr., Missouri Southern
First Base: John Oropeza, Sr., Central Missouri
Second Base: Michael McCoy, Sr., Missouri Southern
Shortstop: Samuel Domingue, Sr., Central Missouri
Third Base: Eric Dawson, Sr., Emporia State
Outfield: Aaron Rea, Sr., Emporia State
Outfield: Kyle Simpson, Sr., Missouri Western
Outfield: Ryan Abernathy, Jr., Northwest Missouri
Designated Hitter: Eric McGlauflin, Jr., Northwest Missouri
Utility: Kyle Grieshaber, Sr., Central Missouri

Honorable Mention
Starting Pitcher - Ethan Sharp, Central Oklahoma; Tayler Davis, Fort Hays State; Ryan Bates, Missouri Southern; Payton Walker, Missouri Southern; Ryker Fox, Northwest Missouri; George Brandecker, Pittsburg State; Taylor Gentry, Washburn
Relief Pitcher - Jake Heissler, Central Missouri; Logan Hollingsworth, Missouri Western; Ryan McKay, Pittsburg State
Catcher - Mike Wilson, Lindenwood; Jake Schrader, Missouri Western; David Weber, Northeastern State; Jacoby Martin, Pittsburg State
First Base - Spencer Shockley, Missouri Western; Ryan Bilovesky, Pittsburg State; Paul Trenhaile, Truman
Second Base - Jon Cotter, Central Missouri; Blake Sturgeon, Emporia State; Chris Santoscoy, Fort Hays State; Landon Young, Southwest Baptist; Taylor Herrington, Washburn
Shortstop - Cesar Wong, Central Oklahoma; Nathan Pridle, Lindenwood; Kegan Knight, Northeastern State
Third Base - Matt Johnson, Central Oklahoma; Brad Foss, Pittsburg State
Outfield - Tyler Crabtree, Central Oklahoma; Jared Wright, Central Oklahoma; Brad Wilson, Central Missouri; Jordan Slade, Emporia State; Clayton Garland, Fort Hays State; Jordan Miller, Fort Hays State; Colby Shepherd, Lincoln; Wade Rothermich, Lindenwood; Will Wagner, Missouri Southern; Anthony Pacheco, Nebraska-Kearney; Kyle Singleton, Northeastern State; Tory Stoffregen, Pittsburg State; Ryan Ventura, Pittsburg State; Corban Williams, Truman; Parker Gibson, Washburn
Designated Hitter - Matt Malloy, Central Oklahoma
Utility - Ryan Busboom, Fort Hays State; Dallas Burke, Missouri Southern; Nate Ramler, Missouri Western; Blake Marino, Truman

Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.