Chiefs 2011 Schedule Released

Chiefs 2011 Schedule Released

<P>Monday Night Football returns to Arrowhead</P>

Courtesy Kansas City Chiefs:

Chiefs to make four primetime appearances

The National Football League officially announced its 2011 schedule on Tuesday evening, and for the second-consecutive season the Chiefs will host ESPN's Monday Night Football at Arrowhead Stadium, squaring off in a MNF rematch against the San Diego Chargers on Oct. 31. Kansas City will also play host to NBC's Sunday Night Football in a contest vs. the Super Bowl runner-up Pittsburgh Steelers on Nov. 27. In total, the Chiefs will appear in four primetime, nationally-televised contests including a Monday night game at New England on Nov. 21 and a preseason match at home vs. Tampa Bay on Aug. 12. Kansas City will open the regular season against the Buffalo Bills on Sept. 11. It will mark the fourth-straight season Buffalo has visited Arrowhead.

Kansas City's schedule for 2011 features six games against teams that qualified for the 2010 playoffs, including contests at Arrowhead against the Super Bowl Champion Green Bay Packers (12/18) and Pittsburgh on NBC's Sunday Night Football (11/27). The Chiefs will also host AFC West rivals San Diego on Monday Night Football (10/31), Denver (11/13) and Oakland (12/24). In addition, the Chiefs home schedule includes outings against AFC East opponents Miami (11/6) and the season opener vs. Buffalo (9/11). The club will also play host to the Minnesota Vikings (10/2).

In total, 14 Chiefs games are scheduled to be broadcast locally in Kansas City on KCTV5 in 2011. Anchored by KCTV5, the Chiefs Television Network is slated to broadcast three of the club's four preseason contests in HD to 10 affiliates in the five-state region of Missouri, Kansas, Iowa, Nebraska and Oklahoma.

All Chiefs preseason, regular season and postseason games are broadcast on 101 The Fox (KCFX-FM), the flagship station of the seven-state Chiefs Fox Football Radio Network. One of the NFL's most respected broadcast tandems - "Voice of the Chiefs" Mitch Holthus and Hall of Fame QB Len Dawson - will call the action together for an 18th-consecutive season. KCFX will continue to air one of the league's finest pregame shows, followed by one hour of postgame interviews and analysis. In addition, Sports Radio 810 (WHB-AM) will broadcast the second hour of the official Chiefs postgame show.

The Chiefs road schedule includes dates at Detroit (9/18), Indianapolis (10/9) and a Monday Night Football contest at New England (11/21). In addition to traditional visits to San Diego (9/25), Oakland (10/23) and Denver (1/1), Kansas City's away schedule also includes trips to Chicago (12/4) and the N.Y. Jets (12/11).

All contest dates and times are subject to change. Fans are encouraged to be flexible in their travel arrangements and those fans booking flights are strongly encouraged to purchase refundable or changeable airline tickets. The Chiefs complete 2011 schedule is below.

Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus