67°F
Sponsored by

Kindergarten Screenings Begin in St. Joseph

With this school year winding down, soon to be Kindergarteners are already preparing for next school year.
(ST. JOSEPH, Mo.) With the school year winding down, parents of incoming kindergarteners are already getting prepared for next year. The St. Joseph School District began registration and screenings for new kindergarteners on Tuesday.

"It gives us a lot of good information of what they are able to do at this point," said Jennifer Nanneman, a kindergarten teacher at Hosea.

The screenings give teachers an idea of what to expect next year and helps parents know skills their children still need to learn.

"The kindergarten teachers meet with the parents after they're done to tell them how they've done and what to work on," said Nanneman.

Teachers said pre-school is a big help in developing skills just like these. The St. Joseph School District has several pre-K programs across the city.

"Pre-school gives kids the opportunity to interact with peers in an environment with a trained adult that knows how to facilitate that interaction," said Debbie Kunz, coordinator of the Parents for Teachers program at the Keatly Center.

"The human brain grows to 80 percent of its adult size by the age of three," she said. "Obviously no formal education has begun so what has or what has not happened during those first three years of life are critical to the success of the child later in life."

The district emphasizes that the evaluation is not a test, but rather a screening that provides helpful information.

Full List of Screening Dates

Tuesday, April 22 - Hosea
Wednesday, April 23 - Hall
Wednesday, April 23 - Lake
Thursday, April 24 - Humboldt
Thursday, April 24 - Noyes
Friday, April 25 - Hyde
Monday, April 28 - Skaith
Tuesday, April 29 - Edison
Wednesday, April 30 - Parkway
Thursday, May 1 - Eugene Field
Friday, May 2 - Bessie Ellison
Monday, May 5 - Pickett
Tuesday, May 6 - Mark Twain
Wednesday, May 7 - Lindbergh
Thursday, May 8 - Pershing
Friday, May 9 - Coleman

Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus

Local News