69°F
Sponsored by

Missouri Sets 2014 Minimum Wage

The Missouri Department of Labor has announced the state's minimum wage rate for 2014 has been set at $7.50 effective Jan. 1.
(JEFFERSON CITY, Mo.) The Missouri Department of Labor has announced the state's minimum wage rate for 2014 has been set at $7.50 effective Jan. 1.

All businesses are required to pay at least $7.50 an hour, except retail and service businesses whose annual gross sales are less than $500,00.

Compensation for tipped employees must total at least $7.50 per hour. Employers are required to pay tipped employees at least 50 percent of minimum wage, or the amount necessary to total compensation at $7.50 an hour.

Missouri law does not allow the state's minimum wage to be lower than the federal minimum wage rate. The rate is calculated once a year and can vary depending on the previous year's Consumer Price Index.

Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus

Local News